Top

Things you might not know about Me

Places I've Lived: Originally from Wynnewood, PA - I moved to College Park, MD in 1994 to attend college at the University of Maryland, where I completed my first undergraduate degree: a BA in Women’s Studies. I remained in the DC metropolitan area to work in public health. This harm reduction based outreach work continues to serve as the basis for the health care that I provide women and their families. In 2001, I moved into the District, where I have lived for nearly twenty years. I currently live in NW Washington, DC with my husband, Jason, our two children, June and Greta, and our strange, but wonderful pug, Lucy.

Education/Training: Frontier Nursing University; University of Maryland School of Nursing; University of Maryland College Park

Why OB/GYN? Women’s health care is beautiful in its complexity and diversity. It is a privilege to serve women and their families as a nurse practitioner, although my love for women’s health started long before my medical career. Previously, I conducted HIV/STI prevention outreach to people engaging in sex work throughout the District through a small, local nonprofit organization. This vital public health service taught me the value of nonjudgmental client-centered care as a means of helping others and making communities stronger. Later, while providing program support to childbirth educators, doulas, midwives, and nurses through Lamaze International, I knew that my passion for women’s health would quickly lead me to a career in nursing. In 2008, I graduated from the University of Maryland School of Nursing and worked as a labor and delivery nurse for nine years on a high-risk obstetric unit in Washington, DC. After completing a Masters in Nursing program in 2017, I worked as an OBGYN nurse practitioner at a busy outpatient clinic for nearly three years before coming to Bloom OBGYN. I remain committed to helping people find agency in their own health care through education, advocacy, and patient-centered care.

Who Knew: I briefly studied opera in undergraduate school.

Travel Memories: Every year, my parents would load me and my three siblings into the family station wagon with a tent or a camper and hit the road for 2-3 weeks. As I result, I have visited many, many national and state parks in every state in the continental United States - all before the age of 18. So many memories!

Someday I plan to go to: Bed

These are some things I do in my spare time: 1000-piece puzzles, play cello or piano, bake

A really big accomplishment: I completed my masters program while working full-time as a labor and delivery nurse. During this program, I gave birth to my second child, Greta. I had a few challenges along the way, including pneumonia while pregnant and working while caring for two little ones at home. As hard as this was, I never considered giving up and pushed myself hard to reach my goal. I look back on that time in my life and feel proud of what I accomplished in that time.

Favorite Book: I love anything by David Sedaris. Lifetime favorites include “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”, “Their Eyes Were Watching God”, and “Crimson Petal and the White”.

Favorite TV Show: “Great British Baking Show” - This show embraces collaboration without compromising the good fun of honest competition. It inspires me to bake more in my own free time.

Favorite Words: You are worth it.

Favorite Quote: “Never try to hang your hat unless you have a hook.” - Patricia Pettit (my mom!)

Favorite Food: I will never say no to pizza

What superpower would you most like to have? Shape-shifter, of course

Back to Our Team